Bunker Hill Monument

The Bunker Hill Monument was constructed in commemoration of the Bunker Hill Battle. The battle took place in 1775, early during the America’s Revolutionary War. Although, at the time, the British held Bunker Hill, there were high casualties on both sides. A design committee was formed to choose an architectural plan for the monument. They offered $100 for the chosen design. Fifty plans were submitted. Solomon Willard was chosen to be the architect, with an obelisk design.

*The monument was erected between 1827 and 1843. The construction was started and stopped many times, due to the lack of funds.

*The monument is made of granite, with 294 steps to the top, from Quincy Massachusetts. The granite was carried via the granite railway, which was the first commercial railway of the U.S.

*The monument is 31 feet square, at the bottom shaft, and 221 feet high. The square shaft contains four windows.

*There are two cannons, at ground level, inside the monument. They are named Adams and Hancock.

*The monument was maintained by the Bunker Hill Monument Association until 1919, when it was bequeathed to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The National Park Service took over the care of the monument in 1976, when it became part of the Boston National Historic Park.

Boston Self Guided Walking Tours and Printable Maps

Our Best Value! All 8 Guides Combo Package
Boston's most affordable way to learn about the sites and points of interest. Purchase, download, print and take ALL EIGHT of our Walking Guides (Click on links below to preview) on your visit to Boston. 136 points of interest!

  • Locate and explore 136 points of interest! 
  • Mobile AND print formats included in purchase 
  • Tour today! Simply download and go 
  • 8 guides including Freedom Trail, Downtown Boston, Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Public Garden, Back Bay, North End and Charlestown