Healy Hall, on the main campus of Georgetown University in Washington, DC, is the university's bellwether. Built between 1877 and 1879, Healy Hall is named for Patrick Francis Healy, president of the university 1873 to 1882, and the first African-American to be president of a major, mostly-white university. Healy Hall is a historic building rich in architectural character and is listed on many building registries, such as the DC Inventory of Historic Sites and the National Register of Historic Places, and is also a National Historic Landmark.
Located near 37th and O Streets in Georgetown, Healy Hall is home to both academic and administrative offices. It also contains the Riggs Library and Gaston Hall. Currently, the building houses the Office of the President, the Kennedy Institute for Ethics, the National Institute for Bioethics Literature and the Georgetown University Department of Classics.
Healy Hall was built in the Flemish Romanesque style by the architects Smithmeyer and Pelz, who also designed the Library of Congress. Soaring towers and spires create a majestic exterior, while interior features, such as Gaston Hall (known as Georgetown's "Jewel in the Crown"), boast allegorical paintings, intricate ceiling paintings, and coats of arms of the Jesuit colleges. Visitors will also see the Healy Clock Tower, the hands of which have often been stolen by students as part of a long-standing university tradition.